Italian Sausage Corndogs

So I had to try something new. Not too long ago, I made homemade corndogs with Hebrew National Hot Dogs. They were unbelievably great! So, when SheSpeaks gave me the opportunity to try Johnsonville Italian Sausage and sent me a neat little package with coupons and recipe ideas, I felt the desire to do something out of the ordinary for Italian Sausage. Of course, there are always the regulars: pastas, pizzas, soups, fajitas, etc. I think I had heard of Italian Sausage Corndogs at a fair or something one time but never anywhere else.

They turned out really good! I would say, though, that they were a little filling, but the flavors really came out and were not buried as they can be in some recipes.

Here is what I did:

I made 15 of them for 9 people. I cooked the Italian Sausage in a large skillet in water until cooked. Then I dried them off and put a bamboo skewer through each. I made a cornbread batter of 3 cups flour, 3 cups cornmeal, 4 eggs, 1/4 cup sugar and about 2 cups of milk. It’s important to make it thick enough to hold onto the dog. Dipped and spread the batter on each dog and fried in a skillet in about 2 inches of peanut oil until golden brown. Yum!

20110317-051433.jpg

20110317-051514.jpg

20110317-051822.jpg

About sensiblemama

A working mother who does it all while keeping it simple, healthy and saving money! Plus, some exciting recipes!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Italian Sausage Corndogs

  1. Jenny says:

    Such a great idea for corndogs, super cute pictures!

Leave a Reply

