Great Lunch Snacks

Today I decided to experiment with new recipes for my family’s lunches. I make lunches for 4 of us every week day but refuse to buy processed junk. I usually have cookies or berry or banana muffins to put in them but those are getting boring and I needed to try new items.
In remembering cookbooks that I have had and loved, I remembered one that I really miss. I have no idea where it went. It was a book about children’s lunches that I acquired sometime in the 90’s. I made some homemade fruit bars from it and they were the best ever. I tried to recreate it today and am not sure yet it if is the same but these will definitely do for lunch snacks.

Fruit Crumb Bars
1 + 1/2 cup unbleached flour
1 + 1/2 cup oats
1 cup brown sugar , packed
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 + 1/2 sticks butter
About 15 oz fruit preserves with no high fructose corn syrup (I used strawberry)
Mix all but preserves together in a bowl with your hands, breaking up until entire mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Set aside almost 1 cup of the mixture and pay the remaining into an ungreased 13x9x2 glass dish. Spread preserves evenly over top. Sprinkle the rest evenly over the top of the preserves. Bake at 350 for about 20-25 minutes or longer until edges become light brown. Cool completely before cutting into squares.
These are perfect for adding to everyone’s lunch box!
*I actually had no oats except for organic steel cut oats, the ones that you are supposed to cook for 30 minutes. I slightly ground them in my BabyBrezza machine but most of the kernels stayed whole. However, the bars turned out perfect and the oats are not hard at all. Perfectly, slightly crunchy. Next time I will use the same type.
These bars were super easy to cut and hold together perfectly to put in baggies for lunches.

And then,
My family loves Cheez-Its but i am not happy about mass produced, prepackaged food. I saw a Cheese Crackers recipe on one of my favorite websites, Inhabitots.com. I slightly altered it for no salt and for not all entirely organic. They turned out perfectly and were way easier than I thought!

Homemade Cheese Crackers
Combine:
1 and 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese
4 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup unbleached flour
Mix with your hands for a while until it easily holds together as a ball.
Lightly flour the counter and rolling pin and roll out to about 1/4 inch thick. Cut into desired shapes which can be animals, triangles, squares, etc. Place on cookie sheet covered with parchment paper, close together but not touching. Bake, carefully watching, at 350 for about 10 minutes or until very lightly browning on edges or until set. These cool very quickly and get crispier as they do. This recipe makes about 2 cookie sheets full.

20120211-180944.jpg

20120211-180956.jpg

About sensiblemama

A working mother who does it all while keeping it simple, healthy and saving money! Plus, some exciting recipes!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Lunch Snacks

  1. Im going to make this tomorrow, yummy!

Leave a Reply

