Pumpkin Sloppy Joes

I love Fall baking. Now that Fall squash is everywhere and the cold is arriving, it is finally that wonderful time when we can fill our families tummies with lots of healthy vegetables that they don’t get all year long.
I have not yet had the chance to cook my own pumpkin, purée it and freeze it but that is next on my list. I do cut up my own pumpkin for stews which are frequent this time of year for us. Pumpkin is cut up and cooked in every one during the cold months in my house.
But the following recipe is for all year long! You can use your own frozen pumpkin or just canned pumpkin. I try to buy a few extra cans of Trader Joes Organic Pumpkin and keep them on hand. I first found this recipe in the Taste of Home Halloween cookbook and modified it a little. It is the only recipe I use to make sloppy joes and even a pumpkin-hater in my house loves it because he couldn’t tell it has pumpkin in it.

Pumpkin Sloppy Joes
1 lb ground beef
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 clove minced garlic
1 cup canned or puréed pumpkin
3/4 cup ketchup
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon mustard
2 teaspoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

8 hamburger buns

Cook and drain ground beef. Return to pan and add garlic and onion and cook until tender. Stir in remaining ingredients and simmer for about 10 minutes. Spoon onto buns.

20121020-192605.jpg

About sensiblemama

A working mother who does it all while keeping it simple, healthy and saving money! Plus, some exciting recipes!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

